Faculty Senate Meeting Apri 15, 2019 Delta Center 201

Attendees: Jeongho Ahn, Manu Bhandari, Donna Caldwell, Ross Carroll, Kim Davis, Mary Donaghy, Joanna Grymes, Matthew Hill, Annette Hux, Sharon James, Irina Khramtsova, Cheryl Knight, Marika Kyriakos, Kellie Martin, Brian Mason, Bill Maynard, Jeff McLaughlin, Suzanne Melescue, Pradeep Mistra, Nikesha Nesbitt, Greg Phillips, Joseph Richmond, Robert Robinette, Bill Rowe, Richard Segall, Marcus Tribett, Amanda Wheeler

Proxy Attendees: Deana Barymon (Stacy Walz)Kathryn Flannigan (Mollie Manning), Marika Kyriakos (Matt Carey), Marcus Tribett (for Steve Weimer)

Absentees: Than Boves, Sharon Davis, Hans Hacker, Shivan Haran, Chris Jordan, Mike McDaniel, Loretta McGregor, Paul Sikkel, Christine Wright

Meeting Called to Order: Donna Caldwell established a quorum. The meeting was called to order at 1501 by Donna Caldwell.

Approval of Minutes from March 15, 2019: Joanna Grymes moved to approve minutes. Amanda Wheeler seconded. Motion carried.

Updates and Announcements:

Chancellor Damphousse gave an update on AUM Malta Agreement:

- *Working to form an ad hoc committee to look at current vetting process.
- *Concern of quality of education and accreditations.
- *Will ask for report from Clemson University Quality Assurance Provider

Guest Speakers:

Jason Penry, Vice Chancellor University Advancement- University has seen an increase in endowments and scholarships in the past 6 years

Julie Isaacson- Race for the Cure April 27, 2019.

Old Business:

SGOC:

195-05-SC Proposal Academic Calendar 2019-20: waiting for Chancellor to sign off 19SP-01 Clarification of Dissertation Thesis Committee Structure: Greg Phillips moved to accept 19SP-01. Amanda Wheeler seconded. Unanimous vote, motion carried. 19SP-03 Suspension Policy: Joanna Grymes moved to accept 19SP-03. Greg Phillips seconded. 2 Abstentions. Motion carried.

19SP-04 Repeat Policy: Greg Phillips moved to reject 19SP-04. Brian Mason seconded. 20 in favor, 1 against, 3 abstentions. Motion carried

New Business:

Email nomination for FA/Senate President Elect to Loretta McGregor Committee Appointments – Loretta McGregor will send email to faculty

Committee Reports:

Shared Governance – Faculty Salary Equity Task Force- CIP code for each faculty member will be submitted.

On Deck: Next Senate Meeting April 19, 2019. Guest speaker Thilla Sivkumaran, Global Initiatives.

Joanna Grymes moved to adjourn the meeting. Brian Mason seconded. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 1702.